By Direction

of the

President of the United States


Distinguished Service Cross

Is Awarded 


Clark R. Douglas



Rank and Organization:  Specialist Four, Company C, 1st Battalion, 5th Cavalry, 1st Cavalry Division (Airmobile)

Date and Place: Republic of Vietnam

Reason:  For extraordinary heroism in connection with military operations involving conflict with an armed hostile force in the Republic of Vietnam:  Specialist Four Douglas distinguished himself while serving as a medical aidman at Fire Support Base Jerri in Phuoc Long Province.  During the early morning hours of 11 November a massive enemy shelling broke the silence, raining destruction on the compound and inflicting severe casualties among the men manning the perimeter bunkers.  Without hesitation, Specialist Douglas moved immediately from the safety of his bunker toward cries for assistance.  Although thrown to the ground by the burst of an impacting round only meters from his position, he crawled persistently forward into the fusillade.  As soon as he reached the first wounded man, he began rendering assistance in a calm, professional manner.  Just then, an enemy mortar round struck the ground nearby, inflicting mortal wounds to Specialist Douglas.  His extraordinary heroism and devotion to duty, at the cost of his life, were in keeping with the highest traditions of the military service and reflect great credit upon himself, his unit, and the United States Army.



Renal-Cancer, IndexSite Map, Vietnam Wall, 1st Cav Medics, MIA/POW, CMB, Author's Tour, Glossary, Experiences, Soldier's Own Obituary, June 2, 1969, Events, December 2, 1969, Photos, Agent Orange, Medal of Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Medics History, Statistics, Draft, Tillquist, Tabasco's C-Ration Cookbook, Student Surveys & Questions, Request for Help, Vietnam Patches, Remembrance, Links, Webrings, Jane Fonda, Simpler Version of Tet 68

All content on this website is intended solely for educational purposes and as a means to honor Veterans and their families

Copyright 1998 - 2007  John D. Dennison